Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott announce new album ‘What Have We Become’

The beautiful South star Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott have announced a  new album titled ‘What Have We Become’

Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott announce new album 'What Have We Become'

New album – What Have We Become: Released 12th May by Virgin EMI

May live dates announced!!

‘What Have We Become’ is the new album from Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott. Paul & Jacqui return together on record for the first time since the multi-million selling days of The Beautiful South, who in the 1990s and early 2000s released a string of critically-acclaimed records.

‘What Have We Become’ is a wonderful contemporary record, full of lyrical wit and humour, whilst retaining a strong social conscience that touches on the changing social landscape of Britain (‘One Man’s England’, ‘When I Get Back To Blighty’), stereotypes in music (‘I Am Not A Muse’), whilst ‘The Snowman’ and ‘Some Dancing To Do’ deal with issues of loss.

Both are clearly delighted to be working together again as they explain:

Paul Heaton: “Working with Jacqui again was like going into your garage and discovering a beautiful, covered up Rolls Royce that hadn’t been started in years. Jacqui is one of the best singers I’ve worked with and is also part of my past. It was only a matter of time before I asked her.”

“I always wrote songs with Jacqui in mind. Even before I met her I pictured a voice that could carry the songs into people’s hearts in a particular way. When I first heard her sing I almost laughed because it was SO right for the songs.”

Jacqui Abbott: “It’s just great to be singing again after such a long time, especially with Paul. We had such a good run together previously and it’s just a real pleasure to be working with him again and singing these fantastic songs”


1. Moulding of a Fool

2. D.I.Y

3. Some Dancing To Do

4. One Man’s England

5. What Have We Become

6. The Snowman

7. Costa del Sombre

8. The Right In Me

9. When it Was Ours

10. I Am Not A Muse

11. Stupid Tears

12. When I Get Back To Blighty

Paul & Jacqui have announced a string of UK dates where they will perform songs from the new album, alongside tracks from The Beautiful South and The Housemartins. These dates will be sponsored by the GMB Trade Union. Support on all dates comes from Cherry Ghost. Tickets will go on general sale on Friday 7th February at 10am from

May live dates:

Tues 20th                                              Newcastle Tyne Theatre

Wed 21st                                              Glasgow O2 ABC

Fri 23rd                                                  Manchester Salford Lowry

Sat 24th                                                 Leeds O2 Academy

Tue 27th                                                London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire

Thu 29th                                               Sheffield Leadmill

Fri 30th                                                   Birmingham Institute

Sat 31st                                                  Hull City Hall

Author Profile

Mark Meets
Mark Meets
MarkMeets Media is British-based online news magazine covering showbiz, music, tv and movies
Latest entries

Leave a Reply