Anne-Marie lands fastest-selling album of 2023 as a UK female solo artist

Anne-Marie’s “Unhealthy” Becomes Fastest-Selling Album by a UK Female Solo Artist in 2023

Anne-Marie’s third studio release, “Unhealthy,” has achieved a remarkable feat, landing at Number 2 on the Official Top 5 album chart in the UK. In doing so, the album claims the title of the fastest-selling album by a UK female solo artist in 2023, just narrowly trailing behind Travis, who secured the top spot. This achievement marks Anne-Marie’s third Top 5 album, joining the ranks of her previous successes, “Speak Your Mind” in 2018 and “Therapy” in 2021.

Unhealthy’s Record-Breaking Success

“Unhealthy” has not only made an impact on the overall album chart but has also dominated the Official Vinyl Albums Chart, becoming the best-selling vinyl record of the week. Additionally, it proves to be the most-purchased LP in independent record stores, debuting at Number 1 on the Official Record Store Chart. What’s even more impressive is that 84% of the album’s total sales for the week came from physical copies, demonstrating the continued demand for physical music formats among fans.

Anne-Marie’s Journey to “Unhealthy”

Before the official announcement of her album’s name and release date on 27th April, Anne-Marie had been teasing her fans with snippets of information about her new music. During the promotion of her single “Psycho” with Aitch in September 2022, she hinted that she had already started working on the record, with “Psycho” being the first track to be released from the album. Reflecting on her growth as an artist, Anne-Marie stated, “I’ve been writing a lot of new stuff… and I feel like I’ve figured out what I want to say. I feel like from the first and second album I’ve learnt a lot about myself, and now this is who I am.”

In December, Anne-Marie further teased her fans through an Instagram post, where she shared a series of photos and videos. In the caption, she subtly hinted at the possibility of releasing new music, sparking excitement among her dedicated followers.

Tracklist of “Unhealthy”

The album “Unhealthy” features a collection of 13 captivating songs that showcase Anne-Marie’s versatile talent and emotional depth as an artist:

  1. Sucks To Be You
  2. Sad
  3. Psycho (featuring Aitch)
  4. Haunt You
  5. Trainwreck
  6. Grudge
  7. Obsessed
  8. Kills Me to Love You
  9. Unhealthy
  10. Irish Goodbye
  11. Cuckoo
  12. You & I (featuring Khalid)
  13. Never Love Anyone Before

Dua Lipa Challenges Dave & Central Cee for Number 1 Single

Apart from her album’s success, Dua Lipa is making headlines on the Official Singles Chart, challenging Dave & Central Cee for the Number 1 spot with her track “Sprinter.” The competition is fierce, with just over 1,000 chart units currently separating the two contenders. Additionally, Billie Eilish’s “What Was Made I For?” is not far behind, vying for the Number 2 position and potentially even eyeing the top spot.

Other Noteworthy Chart Entries

In addition to Anne-Marie’s impressive chart performance, several other artists are making significant moves on the charts. Nathan Dawe, Joel Corry & Ella Henderson are set to potentially re-enter the Top 10 with “0800 Heaven” (7), while Becky Hill and Chase & Status’s collaboration, “Disconnect,” is looking to climb up to Number 9, possibly becoming Becky’s sixth Top 10 hit and Chase & Status’ first in a decade.

Furthermore, Calvin Harris & Sam Smith’s “Desire” could soar eight spots to Number 10, marking Calvin’s 30th Top 10 single and Sam’s 13th, a testament to the enduring popularity of both artists.

Dexys’ Triumphant Return

Apart from the current chart-toppers, Birmingham-formed pop-rock outfit Dexys (formerly Dexys Midnight Runners) is enjoying renewed success with their sixth studio album, “The Feminine Divine.” This album marks their highest-charting release in over 30 years, with their last Top 10 success being “Let the Record Show: Dexys Do Irish and Country Soul” in 2016. “The Feminine Divine” has topped the Official Independent Albums Chart and made impressive debuts on the Official Record Store Chart (2) and Official Vinyl Albums Chart (2).

The Rolling Stones’ Timeless Hits Compilation

The legendary band, The Rolling Stones, makes a remarkable comeback on the charts as their 2002 hits compilation, “Forty Licks,” re-enters the Top 40 after 17 years. This resurgence is attributed to a vinyl reissue, propelling the album to land at Number 39. Furthermore, “Forty Licks” also secures a place in the Official Vinyl Albums Chart Top 10 for the first time in years, settling at Number 6.


Anne-Marie’s “Unhealthy” has undoubtedly made a significant impact on the charts, claiming the title of the fastest-selling album by a UK female solo artist in 2023. With a remarkable tracklist and strong physical sales, the album showcases Anne-Marie’s artistry and solidifies her position as one of the leading female artists in the UK music scene. Alongside other talented musicians making waves on the charts, the music industry continues to thrive, providing listeners with an array of exceptional musical experiences.

Author Profile

Stevie Flavio
Film Writer

Latest entries

Leave a Reply