Marvel movies in order by release date

If the chronological order sounds a little too confusing from our recent article, there is also the option to simply watch in release date order, which also neatly categorises the MCU story into four distinct “phases”.

The first three phases make up what is now referred to as the Infinity Saga, beginning with the introduction of the Avengers characters and ending with the time-hopping mega-event that was Avengers: Endgame.

Watching this method will send you on the same journey that millions of Marvel fans all over the world have enjoyed, allowing you to watch first-hand how the MCU grew from a fairly grounded superhero flick to an all-out space opera.

It’s true that watching this way will mean you see some events outside of their in-universe order, i.e. the origin of Captain America or the first meeting between Nick Fury and Captain Marvel, but this doesn’t cause any serious storytelling problems.

In release date order, the MCU begins with 2008’s Iron Man and continues all the way up to 2022’s Black Panther: Wakanda Forever with several new movies to be added to that list next year.

The Infinity Saga

Phase One

  • Iron Man (May, 2008)
  • The Incredible Hulk (June, 2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (May, 2010)
  • Thor (May, 2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (July 22, 2011)
  • Avengers Assemble (May 4, 2012)

Phase Two

  • Iron Man 3 (May, 2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (November, 2013)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (April, 2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (August, 2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (May, 2015)
  • Ant-Man (July, 2015)

Phase Three

  • Captain America: Civil War (May, 2016)
  • Doctor Strange (November, 2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (May, 2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (July, 2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (November, 2017)
  • Black Panther (February, 2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (April, 2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (July, 2018)
  • Captain Marvel (March, 2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (April, 2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (July, 2019)

The Multiverse Saga

Phase Four

  • WandaVision (TV series) (January, 2021)
  • The Falcon and The Winter Soldier (TV series) (March, 2021)
  • Loki season 1 (TV series) (June, 2021)
  • Black Widow (9th July 2021)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (3rd September 2021)
  • Eternals (5th November 2021)
  • Hawkeye (24th November 2021)
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (17th December 2021)
  • Moon Knight (TV show -30th March 2022)
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (5th May 2022)
  • Ms Marvel (TV show – 8th June 2022)
  • Thor: Love and Thunder (8th July 2022)
  • She-Hulk (TV show – 18th August 2022)
  • Werewolf By Night (TV special – 7th October 2022)
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (11th November 2022)
  • The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special (TV special – 25th November 2022)

Phase Five

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (17th February 2023)
  • Secret Invasion (TV show – spring 2023)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3 (5th May 2023)
  • Echo (TV show – summer 2023)
  • Loki season 2 (TV show – summer 2023)
  • The Marvels (10th November 2023)
  • Ironheart (TV show – autumn 2023)
  • Agatha: Coven of Chaos (TV show – winter 2023/2024)
  • Daredevil: Born Again (TV show – spring 2024)
  • Captain America: New World Order (3rd May 2024)
  • Thunderbolts (26th July 2024)
  • Blade (6th September 2024)

Phase Six

  • Fantastic Four (14th February 2025)
  • Avengers: The Kang Dynasty (2nd May 2025)
  • Avengers: Secret Wars (1st May 2026)

Future MCU movies and TV shows

  • Armour Wars (Movie- TBA)
  • Eternals sequel (Movie – TBA)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings sequel (Movie – TBA)
  • Untitled Wakanda Series (TV show – TBA)
  • Untitled X-Men movie (Movie – TBA)

So, we still have a wealth of Marvel series left to enjoy in the next few years – and beyond!

Author Profile

Lee Clarke
Lee Clarke
Business And Features Writer


Leave a Reply