Kylie Minogue Announces New Album Tension

Kylie Minogue has announced a new album: Tension, the follow-up to 2020’s Disco, is out September 22 via BMG. The Australian superstar worked on Tension

The LP opens with “Padam Padam,” which will get released as a single soon. Find the new album’s full tracklist and cover artwork below.

“I started this album with an open mind and a blank page,” Minogue remarked in a press release. “Unlike my last two albums there wasn’t a ‘theme,’ it was about finding the heart or the fun or the fantasy of that moment and always trying to service the song. I wanted to celebrate each song’s individuality and to dive into that freedom. I would say it’s a blend of personal reflection, club abandon and melancholic high.”

Minogue has worked with a number of producers on the album with seven of the tracks being produced and co-written with her long-time collaborators, Biff Stannard and Duck Blackwell.

‘Tension’ includes her recently released dance tune ’10 Out of 10′ with DJ Oliver Heldens.

It was recently reported that Kylie is planning to drop a new song days before her birthday (28.05.23), with her first arena tour in six years also said to be part of her huge comeback.

“Kylie has finally finished the album and is now raring to go with her return to music. “It is being kept under lock and key and hardly anyone at her record label has even heard it.

Discussing the recording process, Kylie Minogue said: “I loved being back in the studio with my collaborators but was also able to benefit from remote recording, which we have all got used to – my mobile studio never left my side for a year and a half!

The album is a mix of songs I have written and songs which really spoke to me. Making this album helped me navigate challenging times and celebrate the now. I hope it accompanies listeners on their own journeys and becomes part of their story.”

“It’s classic Kylie and is sure to go down well with fans.”

The ‘Spinning Around’ hitmaker – who is known for having explored a variety of music genres throughout her career including, pop, Indie, country, and disco – recently teased that her upcoming 16th LP will be a mixture of electro and 90s house music.

She told The Irish News: “I can’t give too much away, but there’s some 2000s electro, 90s house and what I like to call emoto-pop. I can’t wait to share this with fans and enter the next era of music and live performance.”

It was previously reported that the singer had been working with songwriter Biff Stannard, whom she collaborated with on the likes of ‘Love At First Sight’ and ‘In Your Eyes’.

It’s said she was also joined by Duck Blackwell, who has teamed up with Olly Murs and The Wanted in the past.

Tension tracklisting:

01 Padam Padam
02 Hold on to Now
03 Things We Do for Love
04 Tension
05 One More Time
06 You Still Get Me High
07 Hands
08 Green Light
09 Vegas High
10 10 Out of 10
11 Story

Kylie hasn’t shared a song from the album yet, but first single and opening track “Padam Padam” will be released soon.

Author Profile

Stevie Flavio
Film Writer


Leave a Reply