Differences Between National Football Conference and American Football Conference

Image credit: Unsplash

The NFL is one of the most significant sporting leagues in the U.S. There is a long history of struggles behind the success and popularity of this league. Then, unlike today, there were two rival football conferences played in the country, AFL and NFL. 

Each conference had its own rules, teams, matches, winners, and NFL predictions.  However, in 1970, both conferences were merged. All the former AFL and three NFL teams formed the AFC, and the remaining thirteen teams created NFC.

As time passed by, with new realignments, changes, and additions, there are now 32 teams in the NFL, sixteen in each conference. Each conference has four divisions, and every division has four teams. 

Each team plays 17 games in a home-and-away format in the regular season. While in the postseason, only six teams from each conference qualify. The leader of each division and two wild cards compete against each other for the ultimate glory of qualifying and winning the Super Bowl.

Most fans do not care about the differences between both conferences and which teams have better records. However, you must be able to differentiate between them and increase your knowledge about the NFL to make better decisions while betting on NFL matches.

Teams are picked in the draft for every season. The next NFL draft is scheduled from April 27, 2023, to April 29, 2023. Each franchise eyes the top prospects of college football to strengthen their teams and improve their chances of winning. College football is a lot different from the pro league in some aspects. Therefore, specializing in the NFL does not guarantee success in understanding college football odds if you are into NFL betting.

Major differences between AFC and NFC

The most successful team in terms of winning the Super Bowl in the AFC is the New England Patriots. Whereas in the NFC, it is the Dallas Cowboys.

The NFC winner receives the George S. Halas trophy, and in the AFC, the winner gets the Lamar Hunt trophy.

Both conferences have the same rules, league structure, number of matches, and playoff scenario. The only significant difference is teams. However, the division does not geographically represent the teams. 

Distribution of teams in the league 

Baltimore RavensCincinnati BengalsCleveland BrownsPittsburgh SteelersHouston TexasIndianapolis ColtsJacksonville JaguarsTennessee TitansBuffalo BillsMiami DolphinsNew England PatriotsNew York JetsDenver BroncosKansas City ChiefsLas Vegas RaidersLos Angeles Chargers
NorthSouthEast West
Chicago BearsDetroit LionsGreen Bay PackersMinnesota VikingsAtlanta FalconsCarolina PanthersNew Orleans SaintsTampa Bay BuccaneersDallas CowboysNew York GiantsPhiladelphia EaglesWashington RedskinsArizona CardinalsLos Angeles RamsSan Francisco 49ersSeattle Seahawks

Number of Super Bowls

The NFC is leading in the number of Super Bowls against the AFC with 29 to 27. Besides, the NFC East is the most successful division in the NFL in terms of winning the Super Bowl. The Dallas Cowboys from this division have the most Super Bowls.

The last time a team won the NFL championship from the NFC East was Philadelphia Eagles in 2017. Perhaps the AFC South with two Super Bowls in the most unsuccessful division. Among all the teams, the most Super Bowl wins are with the New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers, with six per team. Also, the only division with all teams winning the Super Bowl is the NFC East.

Author Profile

Mark Meets
Mark Meets
MarkMeets Media is British-based online news magazine covering showbiz, music, tv and movies
Latest entries

Leave a Reply