Rugby World Cup winners list by year

The Rugby World Cup is an international rugby union competition that has been held every four years since 1987. Here is a list of Rugby World Cup winners by year:

1987: New Zealand

1991: Australia

1995: South Africa

1999: Australia

2003: England

2007: South Africa

2011: New Zealand

2015: New Zealand

2019: South Africa

How many times have England won the Rugby World Cup?

England has won the Rugby World Cup once, in 2003. They have reached the final twice, first in 1991 when Great Britain and Ireland hosted the World Cup.

Who was in the 2003 winning squad?

Here is a list of players who were part of England’s 2003 Rugby World Cup winning squad:

England’s 2003 Rugby World Cup squad:

BACKS (14)

Fullbacks/Wings: Iain Balshaw (Bath), Ben Cohen (Northampton Saints), Josh Lewsey (London Wasps), Dan Luger (Perpignan), Jason Robinson (Sale Sharks).

Centres: Stuart Abbott (London Wasps), Will Greenwood (NEC Harlequins), Mike Tindall (Bath)

Fly Half : Mike Catt (Bath), Paul Grayson (Northampton Saints), Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle Falcons) – Vice Captain

Scrum Halves: Kyran Bracken (Saracens), Matt Dawson (Northampton Saints), Andy Gomarsall (Gloucester)


Props: Jason Leonard (NEC Harlequins), Phil Vickery (Gloucester), Julian White (Leicester Tigers), Trevor Woodman (Gloucester)

Hookers: Mark Regan (Leeds Tykes), Steve Thompson (Northampton Saints), Dorian West (Leicester Tigers)

Second rows: Danny Grewcock (Bath), Martin Johnson, CAPTAIN (Leicester Tigers), Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers),

Back-row: Neil Back (Leicester Tigers), Martin Corry, (Leicester Tigers), Lawrence Dallaglio (London Wasps), Richard Hill (Saracens), Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers), Joe Worsley (London Wasps)

The five players who are not in the final squad of 30 are: James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester), Austin Healey (Leicester Tigers), Graham Rowntree (Leicester Tigers), Simon Shaw (London Wasps), Ollie Smith (Leicester Tigers).

Author Profile

Dan Dunn
Dan Dunn
Executive Managing editor

Editor and Admin at MarkMeets since Nov 2012. Columnist, reviewer and entertainment writer and oversees all of the section's news, features and interviews. During his career, he has written for numerous magazines.

Follow on Twitter

Leave a Reply